Ex-depression: Expression of depression

What a title? Some of you might be thinking it. Right? Be serious, it is about word the depression and the feeling depression. ‘Not funny… it takes guts to reveal it. Someone go through it and then you’ll get it. Well it’s just a cheap publicity stunt.’ And lots more opinions. And Here take mine. How come all of them remember about their harassments when their career is getting new lows? “Depressed about being depressed!”

Two perspective from both Positive and Negative sides:

Negative: Some celebrities (if you know who I’m talking about!) only came to media to talk about her/his depression and remembered her/his choice just before the release of the film. What a great timing! Movie will surely earn at least 100cr., now. If I am sucking at what I do, let’s tell people how depressed I am. The new trend is here, tada!!

Positive: They doesn’t suck at what they does… depression is a reality and there is still a stigma attached it. You won’t understand what impact this would have on the people who are actually going through it. Instead of neglecting it they might now dare to speak about this problem, accept it and work towards the cure. and I remember it once you only told me that if celebrities highly depressed and they take on pills. How come you suddenly feel that this is a publicity stunt?

Negative: I know and respect what she is going through but this time I am seeing it from the other angle too, and trying to put 2 and 2 together. All these things just before the release of their movie has definitely got a lot to do with it. Being depressed and selling your depression are two different things. Choices, depression or empowerment doesn’t appear on the front page of any magazine! It’s almost sounds like saying… I choose to brush my teeth or not… I choose to eat my food or not… these are not the choices that are denied nor do they define anyone.

Positive: But even if they tried to “sell” their depression it’s a help to those who are suffering through it. So eventually this will have good consequences. Have you been waiting for the future so that you can make a choice between drinking Iced Coffee and Cold Tea?

Negative: No please don’t use such issues to make me a choice between drinking Iced Coffee and Cold Tea. I loved it anyway! People will argue that we can choose, thing is that all we just have to accept the consequences. True. I am free to cut off my arm, too. Come to your point, How is it a help? Watch “the video” it’s is far away from reality and so much disturbing at a few points. If a girl in depression would watch it, I am sure it won’t do any good to her.

Positive: Why deviate it to my choice… I didn’t like it either… but the depression thing is different… see I’ll tell you how it might help. You know in our society if you are depressed people will make a big deal out of it and think that you are mentally unstable but if I feel I suffer from depression I would not hesitate much in talking about it because depression is something which happened to someone as successful as celebrities and the fact that she is still doing well proves that it’s not a mental sickness and is as common as any other disease that can be cured and you can be normal again. You won’t be tagged as ‘pagal’ thereafter because if you are a pagal then so is celebrities. And we know the fascination we Indians have towards stars so don’t get started over who is celebrities and all that.

Negative: But my point is if you are depressed go to a doctor don’t use media as a platform for your publicity. And moreover if it comes out just before a movie release, then it’s high time for getting the clue that why has this depression stunt came out? Yes, already whole country knows that celebrities are depressed but coming up on a national platform just to show tears is definitely not done. News channels are meant for news but not for laying platform for movie promotions. It’s high time media should understand their responsibility on what to show and what not to show. There were a lot more depressed people in B-town who never came on camera to tell their stories. If you remember some like Jiya Khan, she was so depressed that it resulted in a suicide, but she didn’t have a movie to release around that time, hence she did not get a platform on national television. Let’s think it this way. You might be correct, here I am not talking about what is needed for depression patients. And people who are so depressed will definitely not be moved by a TV program. I am talking about today anything and everything has become so important about celebs which actually is not. And we must check the track of that particular one, before every movie release, they finds her/himself in a big controversy! Get over it! High time! Audience is not stupid.

Positive: A doctor? How do you know that depressed people will not be moved by a TV program? Whatever the celebrity does is his or her life. You have the choice of not watching it. You are no critique to analyze the entire situation. How sure can you be that this is a publicity stunt? Have you ever been depressed? Stop going on and on about things you don’t understand. Do you have verified information? See, your point of view is not wrong. But when someone places their views over yours accept them. If you think you are right, they are not wrong either. And we are no one to judge how things are. The views you presented above are not balanced. A journalist needs to be neutral, talking from both the sides. (We’re not a journalists) They are genuinely in depression, they chose to come forward and talk about it. All of us tend to take things so negatively these days that we forget the essence of it. Men already have the choice of doing what they are doing, women still suffer. We are not a weak that a video has to tell our women what to do. We have made our choice long back, we didn’t and patriarchy is a result of it.

Negative: I am not targeting any personal here I am just talking about the way media is being used. If I was really depressed it would not even strike my mind that I would go to a news channel and talk on television and rather I would have seriously gone to a doctor or anyone with whom I would feel happier. And about the video itself said it was their choice to do it or not to do it, but if they had done it, that obviously becomes a sign of acceptance that they are fine with the script. I know now this whole discussion can turn towards the freedom of expression and all and again the same points that it was on the viewers whether to watch it or not, I completely agree with it. And no one is saying that they were not under depression or just did it as an act. Again I would like to draw your attention to the argument which I am putting up since the beginning of this conversation that – why depression episode just before the release of the movie – why are there controversies always before the release of their movies always. For celebrities media has just become a packet of spice (“Masala”), which they would not hesitate to use whenever they want to create hype over a certain issue. I am not even saying that being a feminist is wrong, but if you are a feminist, get to the basic concept of feminism and not be a feminazi. Just feel “hell annoyed”, when such things come out in media and directly or indirectly wo-men are blamed for everything as if wo-men were responsible for every negative thing happening in the society with the wo-men. It is high time we must open up our minds and look into these things closely and “I do so”. On the point of being a critique, I say that, if the freedom of expression give someone a right to act in a movie or produce it, the same freedom of expression gives me a right to criticize it to the core, “if it hurts me anyway”. And yes, I do accept your point of view too, you have right to have your opinion, and I just telling that what is mine. I completely respect what you think, what celebrities thought and all of those who are in favour of it. If I would get depression I would rather go to a doctor than going to media. The fact is they are act-ors. Depression is the new fashion in town now. Lets see who is next in the line!  See, I can make things less complicated by these lines. Thank you.

What’s the basic difference between a some argument with logical reasoning and a knife!?
The knife has a point! and it has a logical deduction too to the end of the cutting edge day.

So copious Readers, what kind of laughter, there’s the kind of things that “makes you go hmmm”? huh?  Strange and meaningless talks you talk when you’ve nothing to talk about. Great point about boredom. That is why I found it as default brain space.

The negative is me and the positive is a friend. Maybe, by what their content say, you think the opposite. I’m just trying to cover up here to save a friend. Sorry my friend, I have to reveal it (Because I chose it! Made right choice. Isn’t it?!). Because “I think” we made a completely random, an awesome conversation that might people need to know. I don’t care if I get any punishment for it either 😛

Mean while readers might be thinking “Feeling like seating in some editorial room of news publication.” Anyways, Thank you for wasting your time and reading it.

Leave a Reply

